Recent 5 Star

pr-sample17

Cozy Mystery

M. Orient Express
pr-sample17

Nonfiction

The Evil Within
pr-sample17

Mystery

Murder and Macaroons
pr-sample17

FANTASY

One Fell Sweep

Recent Features

[RecentFeatures][grids]

Recent Reviews

[reviews][bsummary]

Recent Bookish Talk

[Discussion][bsummary]
latest posts

R.I.P. Challenge and other Fall-ish News

The purpose of the R.I.P. Challenge is to enjoy books that could be classified as: Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. Dark Fantasy. Gothic. Horror. Supernatural. The emphasis is never on the word  challenge , instead it is about coming together as a community and embracing the autumnal mood, whether the weather is cooperative where you live or not. The annual  Readers Imbibing Peril  book challenge celebrating all things spooky and mysterious! I have participated a few previous years, but did not last year since I was on a mini-blogging break. I had a set goal of doing a full month featuring King's works but did not get enough read/watched/planned for a proper send-off of that. I still have plenty of thrillers, horror and other stuff under my belt, though, so as usual I'll be trying to feel Fall-ish and Halloween-ish this year again.  I have several ideas, let's see what actually happens - either way, I'll have fun indulging. It is my favor

Pride, Prejudice and Poison

The Jane Austen Society COZY MYSTERY Perfect for fans of Laura Levine and Stephanie Barron, Elizabeth Blake’s Jane Austen Society mystery debut is a mirthfully morbid merger of manners and murder. In this Austen-tatious debut, antiquarian bookstore proprietor Erin Coleridge uses her sense and sensibility to deduce who killed the president of the local Jane Austen Society. Erin Coleridge’s used bookstore in Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire, England is a meeting place for the villagers and, in particular, for the local Jane Austen Society. At the Society’s monthly meeting, matters come to a head between the old guard and its young turks. After the meeting breaks for tea, persuasion gives way to murder—with extreme prejudice—when president Sylvia Pemberthy falls dead to the floor. Poisoned? Presumably…but by whom? And was Sylvia the only target? Handsome—but shy—Detective Inspector Peter Hadley and charismatic Sergeant Rashid Jarral arrive at the